Cold Brewed Coffee Liqueur

The first time I had cold brewed coffee I was in love. It was from a coffee roaster that treats their beans well and the flavors melded in such a way that it really blew my mind. When I tasted the natural flavors of the coffee without any bitterness getting in the way, the first thing that came to my mind was using this method to make coffee liqueur. I took the way I had started making cold brew coffee, substituted the water for vodka, added simple syrup and was done.

This is probably my easiest recipe, few ingredients and very little hands on time. I do not know if this recipe is unique, but as of yet I have not seen anyone else using this method. I have had this straight in a cordial glass, over ice, or just mixed with milk to make an excellent white Russian.

This same method can be used to make cold brewed coffee, just use water instead of vodka. This makes a condensed coffee, so add water either hot or cold with ice depending on what you are in the mood for. For a New England treat, use just simple syrup and you will have a coffee syrup (this does take a lot longer to strain due to the added viscosity). This coffee syrup can used to make coffee milk the same way you might make chocolate milk.

Coffee Liqueur

Ingredients

  • Good coarsely ground coffee beans
  • Vodka from a glass bottle (cheaper than that tends to impart an off taste)
  • Simple syrup (1 part sugar to 1 part water)

Instructions

  1. Fill a glass jar 1/3 full with coffee grounds, then fill the rest of the jar with vodka, give it a good stir and let it sit for about 12 hours.
  2. Strain the infused liquid twice, once with a mesh strainer to remove most of the sediment, and a second time with a fine cheese cloth or coffee filter set in a funnel
  3. Add about a 1:3 ratio of simple syrup to the coffee infusion. Depending on your tastes you may want to do a little less.
  4. You can drink this right away but it tastes better if it sits for at least a few days so that the sugar and alcohol can blend together.
Cold Brewed Coffee Liqueur on Punk Domestics
7 comments
  1. dee brun said:

    YUm sounds fab…does this mean it’s ok to drink in the morning?????

  2. I was lucky enough to be gifted with some of this. It is FANTASTIC. Matt, where did you get the beans?

    • I got the beans from Karma Coffee (www.stiryoursoul.com) They really know their stuff.

  3. Reblogged this on navigatorsanddemons and commented:
    Found this on Punk Domestics (which I just found and totally dig). I love liqueur recipes. I want them all! I have to try this one out, because I still have yet to make a coffee liqueur that I really like.

    • When you try it let me know how it turns out. So far I have been happy with this each time I have made it, but letting it sit for a few days really helps it meld together.

      • Sure thing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

